Pensacola Brand

Down below is the second cover for the IN Weekly that I drew. I think it turned out great! It actually says ‘ADMEN’ on the cover; not ‘ADME’. My photo cut the ‘N’ off. Anyway… I guess people are upset with Pensacola’s Mayor (Ashton Hayward) with the amount of money that’s been spent on ‘rebranding Pensacola’ amongst other things. I don’t know how much of the 490K of that re-branding budget was spent on the actual logo, but I’d bet a toe that they paid at least ten times the amount that I would have charged them

So I was asked to draw Hayward and some of his associates ( District 6 Councilman Brian Spencer, Public Information Officer Derek Cosson and  City Administrator Bill Reynolds). Does it look like them? Caricatures are subjective, of course. Mr. Assertive called me and told me that it looked like the Mayor, but you can be the judge of that and even read the article here.

IN2ndOne1

I don’t know if they’ll let me do any more covers, but I hope so. They’re a mad rush, but fun. After the initial sketch, I do the changes, inks and colors in one day (turnaround time). I worked with Rick Outzen, the editor/publisher, and Joani Delezen, his production manager & editor,  in coming up with the art which had the MADMEN theme. I’ve never watched the show, but what I’ve seen when I’ve flipped past it on the boob tube always had the characters in offices with blinds, so I tried to capture that without having the background overpower the caricatures. I’m happy with the way it turned out. I like it better than the other one I did with Uncle Sam, too, especially when it comes to perspective. I also liked how Spencer turned out. I  always enjoy doing the little FX as with making the slight reflective quality of his glasses.

You can pick up a copy here if you’re in the Pensacola area.

At the moment, I’m trying to finish a pinup for a comic book that I should have already finished. And I have logos to finish. Back to it.

2 Responses to “Pensacola Brand”

  1. Your Ad men caricature was Amazing!!!! Very talented! 🙂

Leave a Reply

