Anne Hathaway Cast As Catwoman…Umm… Selina Kyle

Two days ago, it was announced that Anne Hathaway would be playing Selina Kyle in Christopher Nolan’s next Bat-flick. It took about 12 seconds for indignant nerds to take the net to vent their frustration. Yet again, instead of a ‘wait and see’ attitude there’s the knee jerk reaction by a vast number of nerds that hate her because the movies she’s been in weren’t necessarily aimed at their nerd tastes.

Personally, I think it’s a great choice. I have no doubt that she’ll be just fine. She played a similar action role in “Get Smart”, but then again, I liked that one much more than most. Tom Hardy will be a great Bane, also. I never cared for the character in the comics. Despite some great art by various pencillers and inkers, the whole ‘breaking of the Bat’ was a sham and a money grab, anyway. If Nolan decides to go in that direction, I’m sure he’ll do the same great job that he’s been doing with Bane’s character. Hardy’s a great actor from what I’ve seen and Nolan will see to it that there’s something interesting for him to do to put Batman through the ringer.

The actors won’t make or break the film, anyway. It’s the director and except for one (slight) misstep (the Insomnia remake which wasn’t terrible), he’s got a great track record. When it was announced that Heath Ledger would play the Joker in the Dark Knight there was catastrophic upheaval in all of Geekdom. I even read one of my all time favorite comic book artists proclaiming that because the ‘batpod’ had what LOOKED to be gun turrets mounted, that Nolan was ‘off the leash’ and ‘what had begun with promise in “Batman Begins” was now ruined’. He also shut down any forum on his site that mentioned the Dark Knight. Then the movie actually came out and Heath Ledger became some sort of genius to nerds everywhere (Not to the artist, though. He’s still protesting in anger I think.).

All that said  you may think I’m being hypocritical having judged the new X-flick by the photo just released. Maybe, but I don’t think so. I still go by the director (who I have been underwhelmed by in his previous efforts. He’s had some good films, never great). And I’ll wait to see the trailer to make a decision to see it or not, like always. Maybe I’ll be pleasantly surprised.

Yeeeeaaaahhh... She'll make a decent Catwoman.

 

Leave a Reply

