Crash! Landen’s Worst 10 of the 1990s

It’s funny that when I tried to compile a Bottom 10 of the 90s, the REALLY bad films seemed to be concentrated in particular years, especially in the first half of the 90s. There were certain years that had 10 films that could stand in for the Worst 10 of the decade, but since I wanted to spread it around, I tried hard to get a true representation of the entire 90s era. That was hard to do, and 8 of the 10 come from 1990-1994. Only 2 movies make my list from the latter part of the 90s; both being from 1999.

If you’re a masochist I highly recommend any one (or a combination) of these fine examples of cinematic ineptitude.  I do admire the fact that there were probably people that were behind these that believed they would be making celluloid art; perhaps everyone that was on board from Producer to the last extra… I really do admire the attempt at the film-making process…. but I also admire the epic failure made in all of these specific cases; disasters, all of them.

I find I may be picking on some of the ‘smaller’ films of the 1990s. It’s probably a bit unfair. I almost feel there needs to be a list of the bigger budget crapfests, also, that featured deserving movies like Batman & Robin, Spawn, Judge Dredd, Godzilla, Tank Girl… Wow… It would encompass a lot of terribly written ‘comic book’ fare, wouldn’t it? I’ll think about that one. In the meantime, here’s the list:

10 Blue Steel
9 eXistenZ

8 Dr. Giggles
7 Cool As Ice
6 Exit to Eden
5 Bats

4 Stop! Or My Mom Will Shoot
3 Cop and a Half

2 Even Cowgirls Get the Blues
1 Meet the Applegates
Thoughts?
Leave a Reply

