Crash! Landen’s Best 10 Movies of 1993

1993 was a good year to be a fan of the big screen. Most of these films that make up my ‘Best Of’ list could go right on to my ‘Favorites’ list and even though I haven’t made my ‘Best Of The 90s’ list yet, I’m sure all of these will make my Top 100.
There were some interesting movies in 1993. One of the first ‘indie’ movies that I saw was a really small movie called ‘Clean, Shaven’, the story of a schizophrenic man trying to re-establish a relationship with his daughter that starred Peter Greene (who is mostly known as the ‘cop’ in Pulp Fiction). This was also the year of the third ‘Evil Dead’ film ‘Army of Darkness’ (still waiting for that fourth installment… Sam? Bruce? C’mon!!!)…. Other flicks that didn’t quite make my Top 10: The third installment of the ‘Colors’ trilogy ‘Blue’. Clint Eastwood’s ‘A Perfect World’ was a pretty good one, too.
UPDATE: Just saw a really good movie that I had never even heard of until recently. Starred Nic Cage, Lara Flynn Boyle, Dennis Hopper, Dwight Yoakam and the late great JT Walsh. I had no idea where the movie was going. Lots of twists and turns. Best to watch it without reading anything about it. I highly recommend it. It’s also going to bump Dragon from my list…. Sorry Bruce.
I also have to mention What’s Eating Gilbert Grape? I think it’s a great film, too which I have been debating whether or not it should go on the list. ‘Yes’ was my answer and I’m bumping The Secret Garden to add it at #10.
On to the Top 10:
Dragon: The Bruce Lee Story (Bumped….)
The Secret Garden (Bumped).
10 What’s Eating Gilbert Grape ( I think this film is very flawed, but its strengths outshine the weaknesses…)
9 The Firm
8 Rudy
7 The Remains of the Day
6 Dave
5 The Fugitive
4 Red Rock West
3 Groundhog Day
2 Jurassic Park
1 Schindler’s List
Leave a Reply

