Crash Landen’s Top 25 Movies of 2004

Revision: How I forgot the Incredibles, I will never know. Corrected.
Revision 2:Adding ‘A Very Long Engagement’ but instead of dropping #25 Kung Fu Hustle, I’m dropping ‘Spartan’, my former #22. After seeing it again, I wasn’t as impressed with it was as I was when I first saw it. In fact, I wondered how I thought this was a good film in the first place.
There were several interesting movies that didn’t quite make the cut on my list:
The Machinist (Christian Bale’s last movie before becoming a household name…) ,  Layer Cake (Pre-Bond Daniel Craig), The Terminal,  Shrek 2,  the oddly hilarious Napoleon Dynamite, The Jim Jarmusch film Coffee and Cigarettes (a series of vignettes revolving around the title subject)  is worth seeing for 2 segments in particular. One paired Alfred Molina and Steve Coogan and was hysterical. There was another good one that paired polar comedic opposites Roberto begnini and Steven Wright. The other segments are hit and miss so I left it off the list.
So anyway… On with it.

Spartan (As I said, Dropped from the list.)
Bumped… Ned Kelly (A solid biopic of an outlaw, though…)Bumped from my Top 25: Kung Fu Hustle (The dancing criminals were hilarious… borrowed a little from the Zatoichi comedy ‘remake’, but still great.
#25 Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events (A little slow, but had some beautiful images in it… I like when Jim Carrey tries the different stuff like this… Carrey’s first of two on the list.)
#24 Dawn of the Dead (Not as good as the original and lost that one’s meaning, but it was still fun… Loved the Leno and Reynalds cameos…)
#23 A Very Long Engagement (Maybe should be a lot higher on my list, but I was distarcted by some of the director’s ‘whimsical’ style, but it was still a good movie. I’ll probably see it again in the future, though.)
#22 Hidalgo (Viggo Mortensen has a pretty disparate collection of movie roles. Interesting dude.)
#21 Finding Neverland (Slow, but good. Kelly McDonald is one of my favorite actresses, so it was nice to see her in a cameo, along with former child actress Kate Maberly.)
#20 Code 46 (Samantha Morton is awesome in that, especially in a first person POV shot where Tim Robbins dances with her but really she’s dancing with you the viewer)
#19 Crash (Loved the segment featured in the poster above. The impenetrable cloak made the movie for me.)
#18 The Bourne Supremacy (The least of the 3 Bourne movies, but still good).
#17 Hotel Rwanda (Starts off a little ‘ABC After School Special-ish’ then gets really good. Don Cheadle’s great in this.)
#16 The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou (Wes Anderson makes fun movies. Appreciate Seu Jorge more because of this movie… I think Willem Dafoe drank some ‘goof-a-hol’ to prepare for this.)
#15 Spanglish
#14 Cellular (Very surprised by this one.)
#13 The Incredibles
#12 Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (The only one in the series that I liked.)
#11 Kill Bill Vol. 2 (Tarantino’s 5th best film.)
#10 The Passion of the Christ (Mel Gibson is a helluva’ director… Maybe I shouldn’t say that… Very strong movie.)
#9  Melinda and Melinda (Great take on storytelling…)
#8 Garden State (The story is familiar, but this is one of those sweet little movies that I can watch repeatedly.)
#7 Spider-Man 2 (‘Nuff said.)
#6 Closer (Many reasons to like this one. Everyone in it does a great job. Didn’t think I would like it. Boy was I wrong.)
#5 The Aviator (DiCraprio gets a bum wrap. He’s a great actor. Loved his portrayal of Hughes.)
#4 Sideways (Quirky with some very poignant moments scattered throughout.)
#3 Shaun of the Dead (I first heard about this one on Horrorview.com, a great site BTW, and was anticipating this one eagerly for almost a year before it actually made it over to America. I apparently wasn’t the only one… I have rarely been at the movies when there are literally NO seats available during the screening. It took a more serious turn towards the end, but made up for its digression in tone with one of the grteatest epilogues in film history. I’ve never walked out of a movie where a crowd had a better time than the crowd had at this one. This team of Simon Pegg and Edgar Wright’s collective eye for detail and nuance is astounding and rivals that of some of this era’s greatest directors. There are jokes in this and in Hot Fuzz that you actually have to watch the movie twice to get.)
#2 Twilight Samurai (Does for Samurai flicks what Unforgiven did for Westerns…)
#1 Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind ( The best work for everyone involved with the film. One of my favorite films that I’ve seen many times over. I felt at times in this movie that Jim Carrey was playing me.)
Thoughts?
One Response to “Crash Landen’s Top 25 Movies of 2004”

  1. […] Crash Landen’s Top 25 Movies of 2004 « Crash! Site Says: April 19, 2011 at 1:34 AM […]

Leave a Reply

