Top 25 Best Movies of 2007

NOTE: There are probably movies that I’ve forgotten or if there’s one you’d like to suggest viewing not on the list, please let me know! For instance, I had forgotten about a GREAT movie like The Kite Runner…
Hot Fuzz was a GLARING omission (pointed out to me by ‘Bob Johnson’) so I  had to revise my list… Again.
I saw my normal slate of films in 2007. It was a GREAT year in movies. Instead of 10 I’m going to list 25 and I could have continued with another 25 good movies like AMERICAN GANGSTER,  THE INVASION, ACROSS THE UNIVERSE,  SWEENEY TODD: THE DEMON BARBER OF FLEET STREET, FRACTURE, even BALLS OF FURY (it made me laugh).
I had to bump ‘Hitman’ (which was decent for a movie based on a ‘vid-ya game’) to make room for a truly stunning film: The Kite Runner….  Here are the 25 I went with:
Also had to bump PIRATES OF THE CARIBBEAN: AT WORLD’S END after revisions (it’s still a pretty good movie, though).

HOT ROD (BUMPED)
#25 TRANSFORMERS
#24 BEOWULF
#23 SHOOTER
#22 LIVE FREE OR DIE HARD
#20 RESCUE DAWN
#19 SUPERBAD
#18 THE CAKE EATERS
#17 TMNT
#16 THE LOOKOUT
#15 THE DARJEELING LIMITED
#14 MICHAEL CLAYTON
#13 KABLUEY!
#12 ENCHANTED
#11 EASTERN PROMISES
#10 3:10 TO YUMA
#9 SUNSHINE
#8 THE BOURNE ULTIMATUM
#7 THE KITE RUNNER
#6 THE ASSASSINATION OF JESSE JAMES BY THE COWARD ROBERT FORD
#5 GONE BABY GONE
#4 RATATOUILLE
#3 HOT FUZZ
#2 NO COUNTRY FOR OLD MEN
#1 ZODIAC (It was a hard choice between the Top 2. No Country For Old Men deserves all the accolades that it gets, but I give the nod to David Fincher’s best movie. On the surface it’s a police procedural, but it’s also commentary on the subject of serial killers, ‘the serial killer’ movie (even Fincher’s own career) and it even puts the finger on the probable identity of the Zodiac killer who never was ‘officially’ caught and brought to justice. The detailing in this movie is pretty extraordinary and has a real feeling of the era(s) that it’s set in and grounded in more realism than most movies. And unlike overly long movies like King Kong and the Rings Trilogy, I can watch this movie over and over again. Great performances throughout, even some by actors that may not have been seen in mainstream movies in a long time. Also of note: many cite Iron Man as being Robert Downey Jr’s ‘comeback’, but I believe it began either here or in ‘A Scanner Darkly’.
The movie’s dark and there are scenes in it (especially in the first 30 minutes or so of the film)  that are DISTURBING, but it’s worth seeing.
3 Responses to “Top 25 Best Movies of 2007”

  1. Crash! Landen Says:

    Hot Fuzz has now been added… Can’t believe I forgot about that one. After repeated viewings I think it may be even better than Shaun of The Dead (Hot Fuzz’s Rom-Zom-Com ‘cousin’), which is also one of my favorite movies.

  2. Crash! Landen Says:

    I thought Juno was okay, but it was predictable and everyone in the movie spoke like the dialogue was coming from the same character.
    There are indie movies and then there are REALLY indie movies and Kabluey! has that going against it, but yeah, it’s a great comedy.
    Don’t forget the cinematography on The ‘Assassination’. I think the director was the cinematographer on a bunch of the Coen brothers movies like ‘Miller’s Crossing’. He was ‘turned loose’ on this. It’s just a beautiful movie and I haven’t seen too many movies with the creativity of the visuals. He made ordinary scenes look like works of art.

    Hitman is #26 (not in the 25, and it will move to 27 after I add Hot Fuzz) and sure, it was flawed (and even used footage from Dark Angel, the TV series), but for a VIDEO GAME movie, it was pretty darn likeable. Is that a ringing endorsement? Maybe not, but I liked it. The 2 leads were decent (Olga!) and the action was fairly well done.

    I go against the grain on Transformers. There is a lot of Bay hate out there (a lot of it somewhat justified), but it’s a giant robot movie. A GIANT ROBOT movie. Doesn’t have to be that deep. And Bay does explosions (and bimbos) as well as any director in Hollywood.

    I enjoyed Shooter. It’s pretty starightforward in story, but Wahlberg is always ‘believable’ in his movies. He’s like Jason Statham in that regard. Even when Statham is in some low budget crap movie with bad dialogue, he does NOT mail it in. He gives the director his best effort. I respect that. I also thought the scene with with the gun expert (in Tennessee?) was hilarious and pretty outstanding.

    Didn’t see Charlie Wilson, The Hoax or The Hunting Party (never heard of that one). You’re right about Hot Fuzz. That’s one I forgot and I will correct the list. That’s one of my favorite movies.
    Shoot ‘Em Up was decent, I liked it and didn’t quite make my Top 25. I think it was around 27.

  3. Bob Johnson Says:

    First off kudos for:

    1. Not sucking Juno’s cock like its the best screenplay ever pinned.
    2. Including Kabluey! that was a solid movie that deserved more attention.
    3. The Assassination was brilliant mainly the direction and Casey Affeck.

    Secondly, OH MY GOD REALLY?:

    Hitman, really? Are you being sarcastic? I can’t tell, I mean you have to be right?

    Transformers No, just no. Of the all movies that came out this is 23? Look I like explosions to but in between there should be some kind of plot to make the best movies. Or do you have some jackass criteria that I’m not taking into affect?

    There are a few more problems but the fact that shooter is on there made blood come out of my ears. So I got to go before my brain start leaking out. Here’s a list of other films the easy make the top twenty over those sorry excuses for entertainment.

    There Will Be Blood (Seriously what the hell? How does that not beat transformers.)
    Charlie Wilson’s War (Despite Julia Roberts, Hoffman is badass)
    The Hoax
    Hot Fuzz
    Shoot ‘Em Up
    The Hunting Party

    Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

