ShockPopTerror! Novel

I found this while going through the paperback section at Hawsey’s, one of Pensacola’s used book stores. I wasn’t aware that one of Zuda’s entries this month ‘ShockPopTerror!’ was already serialized in book form, so I bought it along with a few other books.

ShockPopTerrorNovel
Here’s a better scan of the cover with a couple of other books that I bought to read.
SPTart1

Okay, so I didn’t really find this and I know I didn’t fool anyone. Forgive me for being a nerd…. Did it look passable, though?

Jean-Michel Ringuet’s ShockPopTerror! is one of several entries that I liked this month on the Zuda site ( the ongoing monthly webcomic competition and an offshoot of DC Comics). I started doodling this during the FSU/NCU game last night. It was just one of those standard full character drawings. I wasn’t planning on going any further with it, but it carried over into today. After scanning the inked version, I went into Full On Emulation Mode and colored it and all of the other things. Not trying to rip Jean-Michel’s thing. Just wanted tom try doing something like that myself, because it’s so cool visually. Anyway, this is what I ended up with (a slightly bigger version)….

Photobucket

I had fun doing it and I think it turned out fairly decent with all of the type and distressed stuff.

Well…. That’s all I got for now… Thanks for taking the time to give it a look.

11 Responses to “ShockPopTerror! Novel”

  1. Crash! Landen Says:

    Cool!

  2. Crash! Landen Says:

    🙂 Thanks, Adam!

  3. Man that looks really cool! Great job Crash. I’d read that. lol

  4. Crash! Landen Says:

    And thanks again, JM! It makes me happy that SPT!’s creator likes this.

  5. Sam Little Says:

    That rocks, dude! You even had me wondering for a minute if that was a real book. I love that distressed look. How do you go about doing that?

    • Crash! Landen Says:

      I already had the distressed ‘texture’ look from jobs that I’ve had to do in the past (fishing types just LUV that distressed look). It’s not the exact same as what JM Ringuet is using but I figured if I altered it a little I could make it look comparable.
      There are lots of ways to do that distressed look. How it was done originally was just crumbling up different types of paper/carbon paper and scanning it. Then just inverse it in Photoslop and you have a ‘distressed’ overlay’. Anything with extreme contrasts can be scanned and used, though. If you’ve never done that, it can be kind of fun coming up with different things to scan to get a texture to use. Scanned coffee stains, ink spatters, etc… You can have a lot of fun with Photoslop.
      Anyway I just used the same texture several times, turning it vertical and using different opacities of the same pattern.

  6. This has to be the coolest thing I’ve ever seen. Wow!
    Awesome art, perfect ’emulation’ of the style… Words are not enough to describe this!

    If you want another used copy please get it for me!

  7. steve steiner Says:

    nice idea!

Leave a Reply

