The Punch…

I guess I’m 2-1 in my picks so far. I was picking with my heart on the Boise State-Oregon game, not because I’m a fan of the Quack Attack, but because I really didn’t want to see Boise State go to a BCS game when they’re not really going to deserve. They have a terrible schedule filled with Joe Palookas and borderline legitimate programs.  Sure, they still have to play the games and might have one or 2 tough games against the likes of Fresno State (perenial wannabes), but they should be heavily favored from here on in…. They’ll probably go undefeated once again, be ranked in the Top 5 at the end of the year and NO ONE will be talking about them getting into the national title game. But they’ll get into a BCS game that nobody except Boise State fans will want to watch.

I should have known better than to put my faith in the hands of a Pac-10 pretender. Oregon was pretty decent last year and scored a lot of points, supposedly because of their offensive ‘guru’ Chip Kelly who is now their head coach. He did not have an auspicious debut. Quiote the opposite in fact. Oregon didn’t get a first down until midway through the 3rd quarter. That’s not great Boise State defense, that’s just offensive ineptitude… Or maybe I just forgot that they’re a Pac-10 team. With the exception of USC, the Pac-10 is a joke. I still think Cal or someone like Oregon State or Stanford may be able to knock the Trojans from their perch. If they don’t they probably won’t be able to for some time. I picked Cal against Maryland, but if they lose that one then I think they have no chance against USC.

I guess this also proves what I said about teams being ranked before they play any games. No one knows how good teams are going to be, because no one has anything to base an opinion on. Who could’ve known that an offense as prolific as Oregon had last year was going to look as bad as they did. And the punch…Whata bonehead.  Everyone’s seen the LeGarrette Blount punch and having to be restrained by the police and coaches. He broke school records last year and was projected as a 2nd or 3rd round draft pick after last season. With a good year in 2009, who knows? He might’ve worked his way up to a first rounder. He got suspended FOR THE YEAR yesterday, and suddenly Oregon looks like (sorry for this) a lame duck.

Can I change my Pac-10 pick? If I can, Cal is my new contender. I just can’t see USC winning with a true freshman QB. If they do, it will just prove out what I think of the Pac-10 conference, which isn’t much. I saw where Pat Forde of ESPN had the top conferences ranked in this order: SEC, Big 12, Pac-10, Big 10, and ACC. That’s hilarious. Again, this is all based on nothing. I think the SEC is the only one they got right and I think even they may be a little top heavy this year…We’ll see, though, as the season begins to play out.

Looking forward to watching/listening to games while I work today.

Leave a Reply

