X-Men: First Class First Reaction

I just saw the first photo featuring the cast of the new X-Men film and all I can say is:

Ack!

Marvel’s Idiots In Charge have put yet another film adaptation in the wrong hands. I don’t think some of the people involved are so bad… The director has made some semi-successful films (Snatch, Layer Cake) ans some that I thoght were complete failures (Kick-Ass).¬†McAvoy… Fassbender… the lovely and talented Rose Byrne. All great actors… But actors almost never are able to overcome a crap story. I don’t have to go any further than this photo to see that they’re going to cram the last 40 years into this making it FAR too complicated and involving so many characters with so many powers and so many storylines that noone is going to care.

It’s sad to think, based on the trailers that I’ve seen recently that we’re going to have to wait for the next Christopher Nolan Bat-flick to see another good superhero movie. Marvel’s idea of a good superhero movie seems to be: Cast as many ‘name’ actors as you can. Feature as many characters from the comics that you can. Write a nerd friendly script (“I was happy that they stayed true to the source material, ” says the nerd that loved the film that was rejected by mainstream audiences so as to ensure that either there will be no sequel or an even worse, more watered down sequel).

Lately, I’ve been passing on comic book films at the theater. I didn’t think that they would be any good based on the trailer (like KickAss and the Losers). When I did see them, I was proven right. Hopefully the trailer will be better than this photo, but based on Marvel’s track record of late, I’m betting it won’t be. Disappointing.

One Response to “X-Men: First Class First Reaction”

  1. [...] that said ¬†you may think I’m being hypocritical having judged the new X-flick by the photo just released. Maybe, but I don’t think so. I still go by the director (who I have been underwhelmed by [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 194 other followers

